MEET THE TEAM

Project Manager

HANNAH
BLAKE

Hi, my name is Hannah and I am so excited to be one of the leaders of CU Boulder's Solar Decathlon team. As a CU Boulder Architectural Engineering student in an interdisciplinary program, I have dedicated my entire college career to learning about issues surrounding energy use/efficiency and sustainability.

 

Hannah.Blake@colorado.edu

Project Manager

GABRIELLA

ABELLO

Hi, my name is Gabi. I’m in my fourth year of studying Architectural Engineering in an experiential program at CU. I’m passionate about integrating sustainable solutions and human-centered design, and am very excited to push this project as far as it can go. I’m fascinated by residential builds and its role in planning for a greener future.

Gabriella.Abello@colorado.edu

Finance Lead

WESTON

MORAN

Hi my name is Wes and I am excited to solve the housing crisis within the Rocky Mountain region through the Solar Decathlon competition. I am currently a Senior in Leeds Business School studying Real Estate and Finance.

Weston.Moran@colorado.edu

Marketing Lead

Hello, my name is Nate Hottenstein and I am from the Greater Philadelphia Area. I am a community based architect and designer in the school of ENVD. I will be graduating with a specialization in architecture. As a designer, I have run and designed graphics for several branding campaigns.

Nathaniel.Hottenstein@colorado.edu

NATHANIEL HOTTENSTEIN

Panel%20Setting%20(26%20of%2027)_crop_ed

Structural Lead

JUSTIN
RIMBACH

Howdy, I'm Justin, and I'm a senior in Architectural Engineering. I'm a co-lead of the Structural Engineering team with Eric, and am honored to be a part of the Solar Decathlon competition. I love architecture and design, and hope that our build can push the limits of sustainable building practices and confront the issues that affect so many people throughout the world.

Justin.Rimbach@colorado.edu

Foreman

Robin

Walz

Robin.Walz@colorado.edu

IMG_3549_edited.jpg

Structural Co-Lead

ERIC

SIPOCZ

My name is Eric Sipocz and I am a co-lead on the structures team, and a student in the school of architectural engineering at CU Boulder. I joined the team to gain experience designing and building a house, and to be part of a team which will work to help people in Colorado.

Eric.Sipocz@colorado.edu

Project Superintendent

NIKET
VASAVADA

Hi, my name is Niket Vasavada and I am from India. I recently graduated from CU with a Master's degree in Mechanical and I am really passionate about working in Renewable Energy & Sustainability Engineering projects, may it be residential, communal or commercial.

Niket.Vasavada@colorado.edu

Hydraulic Systems Lead

RACHEL

CORNWELL

Hi! My name is Rachel and I am so excited to be a part of the CU Solar Decathlon team. I am currently a junior in Environmental Engineering with a certificate in Techonology, Arts, and Media. I am excited to work with faculty and industry mentors to apply my knowledge of sustainability and water systems to this house.

Rachel.Cornwell@colorado.edu

Mechanical Engineering Lead

EDDIE

HERRICK

REYNOLDS

My name is Eddie, I am a junior in mechanical engineering. Originally from the D.C area, looking forward to being able to apply in-class knowledge to innovate on a real world problem.

Eddie.Herrick-Reynolds@colorado.edu

System Design Lead

BRANDON
WALLACE

ERIC

SIPOCZ

Hi my name is Brandon Wallace, I am a junior studying product design and business. I race triathlons competitively and am also the collegiate club conference commissioner for the mountain region. I'm passionate about design and enjoy learning new things, and have grown up surrounded by the real estate industry and remodels. 

Brandon.Wallace@colorado.edu

BRENTON
KREIGER

Graduate Advisor

My name is Brenton Kreiger and I am a graduate student at CU Boulder studying Architectural Engineering. My research is in material-based optimization of building-to-grid interactions, and I am the graduate student advisor for the CU Solar Decathlon team. I participated in the UC Berkeley - Denver University team in 2017 and hope to start my own off-grid design-build firm one day!

Brenton.Kreiger@colorado.edu

Panel%20Setting%20(13%20of%2027)_edited.

Graduate Advisor

AISLING

PIGOTT

Electrical Lead

NATALIE

BETTS

Hi, my name is Natalie Betts and I am a senior studying Electrical Engineering. I am passionate about creating a world that has lower carbon emissions and responsible energy use. I'm excited to build a net-zero home that supports sustainable living.

Natalie.Betts@colorado.edu

CharlotteHeadshot.jpg

Lighting/Electrical Co-Lead

CHARLOTTE MITCHELL

Measurement Team

RYAN

TASTO

 

HEATHER WALKER

 

JACOB APPLE

Homeowners

KRISTEN TADDONIO

JOE SMYTH

ERIC

SIPOCZ

IMG_4845_edited.jpg
IMG_2788_edited.jpg

JENNIFER
SCHEIB

Faculty Advisor